Reviews

What people are saying about The Pheasant Pub with Rooms




Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We spent an evening and dinner at the Pheasant, the room was excellent value, dinner was good quality and well prepared food and the staff were all attentive and very welcomingAll in all, a lovely place and worth another visit

Reviewer:Simon R | Mon 4th Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


Recommended- Rating 4/5

Very pleasant stay, welcoming staff.

Reviewer:Graham H | Fri 1st Nov 2019 | 1 month ago


Comfortable- Rating 5/5

Perfect stay for work, beautiful place! Comfortable rooms with lovely views across open fields. I enjoyed sitting on the window seat. The food fantastic ( especially lasagna) and all team were lovely and welcoming. I didn’t want for anything. Perfect stay!Thank you

Reviewer:sallyanne s | Mon 28th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Lovely over night stay - Rating 5/5

What a lovely place, great food drink the staff are so friendly , our room had amazing view of the country side. all i can say is we will be back.

Reviewer:Mark C | Mon 21st Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Birthday celebration - Rating 5/5

Excellent stay, with great food, friendly staff and lovely room...

Reviewer:matthew c | Mon 7th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Little gem - Rating 5/5

What a fantastic hotel. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly.Food is great, although only small menu, but so tasty. Rooms are excellent and very clean. Beds are so comfy. Highly recommended this hotel to anyone

Reviewer:Tracy C | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


WONDERFUL STAY - Rating 5/5

Great room, wonderful breakfast and fantastic staff.Nice and quiet.Would recommend to anyone

Reviewer:Martin A | Mon 30th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We received a warm welcome from Suzette, even though we were later than expected.Luxurious ground floor room with lovely view across fields.We felt cared for by kind staff.

Reviewer:Michael K | Sat 28th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


What a hidden gem- Rating 5/5

Fabulous rooms at the Pheasant Coaching Inn with plenty of character in the pub area and plenty of free parking!The Annexe accommodation was superb, very clean, lovely fragrances everywhere, and very stylish.Lovely food too served with a smile and couldn’t do enough for us. Would definitely recommend to family &friends. We will be back.

Reviewer:Julie S | Fri 20th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


serendipity - Rating 5/5

Outstanding in every respect.

Reviewer:leslie J | Mon 16th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Diana is a fantastic host. The rooms are clean and tidy and decorated to a good standard. Food was great, especially the sticky toffee pudding! Thank you for making as feel so welcome and making our stay most enjoyable.

Reviewer:Zoe J | Mon 9th Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Hi We stayed for 1 nt in August beautiful place lovely staff amazing room n food

Reviewer:Stephen M | Sun 25th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


August 2019 - Rating 5/5

Everything was perfect for a very friendly and relaxing stay where the breakfast is brilliant.Very clean and comfortable room and we Would love to return for another break later in the year.Thoroughly recommended.You won't be disappointed.

Reviewer:Robert H | Sun 11th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Exceptional service and high quality room - Rating 5/5

I hesitate to give too good a reference as it will make it more difficult to get a room when we go back and we will be going back.Top quality room, meal and staff.

Reviewer:Chris M | Fri 26th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Second visit here. Lovely location, with my room looking out over the lovely fields. Great view to wake up to. Brilliant staff, friendly, welcoming, helpful. Highly recommend this lovely place to stay. Breakfast is also first class with everything coming from the local area, sets you up for the day

Reviewer:Naomi D | Fri 12th Jul 2019 | 4 months ago


An amazing place - Rating 5/5

The pheasant is amazing place to stay from when you enter to when you leave the standards of the accommodation is first class then views are to die for ovetlooking fields no noise at all everthing you need in the room is there the furniture matches the room so much the bed was very comfortable my wife Carole had the best sleep in a long time as ahe has MS and struggles to have a full night sleep the breakfast was amazing the produce you can tell is local as its top quality the owner and the staff we very helpful and we wouldx be visiting again soon.

Reviewer:Mark N | Thu 27th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Lovely Bedroom - Rating 5/5

A lovely country pub with rooms. Our room was beautifully furnished and well appointed but, most of all it was ultra quiet and comfortable.The breakfast was excellent.Well done and thank you to Diana and her team.

Reviewer:Iain A | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Review - Rating 5/5

My husband and I stayed at The Pheasant after attending a wonderful wedding at Hedingham Castle. Can thoroughly recommend this pub. The staff are welcoming and accommodating, the rooms are spacious and well appointed while the breakfast was superb. If we ever find ourselves back in that part of the world, we would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Joanne S | Mon 17th Jun 2019 | 5 months ago


Welcoming and peaceful - Rating 5/5

Lovely little pub offering excellent food, lovely atmosphere and friendly staff. A very relaxed and peaceful stay with refreshing views from the bedroom.

Reviewer:Maggie W | Tue 28th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Staying at the pheasant - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay at the Pheasant with a very warm welcome.Our room was oerfect with a fantastic view.We enjoyed the dinner and the excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Eirwen S | Sun 5th May 2019 | 7 months ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent food. Good service and very comfortable room.

Reviewer:Robert G | Mon 22nd Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


Great room and ensuite, great food and lovely staff - Rating 5/5

Definitely on my best list

Reviewer:Anne M | Sun 31st Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


Great room and ensuite, great food and lovely staff - Rating 5/5

Definitely on my best list

Reviewer:Anne M | Sun 31st Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


Welcoming - Rating 4/5

Thanks for the hosiptality, the welcome in the evening was very good as was the breakfast. The only downside was the shocking internet and phone signal. There was alos no milk in the room, but i'm sure that if i'd asked it would have arrived immediately!

Reviewer:Paul W | Thu 28th Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


The warmest of welcomes - Rating 5/5

We made a last-minute booking to stay here while visiting relatives. It was a great choice.Our room was large, comfortable and very well appointed with a whirlpool bath.The food was lovely and the beer and wine both good. Perhaps best of all was the very warm reception we received both from the owners and from the locals who drew us into their conversations and made us feel very welcome.

Reviewer:Anthony H | Thu 21st Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


The \"Great Escape\" - Rating 5/5

If you need to relax and unwind from a hectic lifestyle, then look no further than this little gem.Excellent accommodation, food and hospitality. Great countryside walks..

Reviewer:Paul M | Sat 16th Feb 2019 | 9 months ago


Fabulous- Rating 5/5

We stayed at the coach at the pheasant for one night as we were going to a wedding at Hedingham castle. The room was fantastic with a super king size four poster bed and a great double shower. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff went beyond there normal duties to help us and everyone was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you to Diana and her staff for making our stay enjoyable.

Reviewer:Lorraine A | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 11 months ago


Beautiful modern rooms quiant little pub - Rating 4/5

The rooms were beautiful.The pub to eat in for dinner &breakfast was so warm cozy and inviting. Really friendly snd the food was great.Only down full wad no Wi-Fi in hotel rooms. Or phonesignal.

Reviewer:Zara H | Fri 16th Nov 2018 | 1 year ago


Fantastic - Rating 5/5

Realy fantastic.Unfortunately we were in transit, otherwise we would have stayed here longer. Highly recommended in all respects.

Reviewer:gert-jan a | Fri 28th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice modern rooms in quiet area next to original pub - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our stay very much. The room was comfortable and very stylish. Beautiful newrooms contrast with original historic pub. Breakfast surprisingly included yoghurt and muesli!

Reviewer:Julia S | Fri 6th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

This is really lovely place - very friendly, with everything you need and delicious food. The room is very comfortable, with a great shower, nice linen and even a home-made biscuit and real, artisan coffee to enjoy. Was really well looked after by Diane, who's really friendly, and even went out of her way to find me a power lead for my laptop - lifesaver! Faultless and can recommend thoroughly

Reviewer:Tom A | Fri 16th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our stay:large room;very well-appointed disabled bathroom;very good food;friendly welcome. It's in a quiet location but very easy to visit sights in Essex and Suffolk from there.

Reviewer:Janet R | Sat 10th Feb 2018 | 1 year ago


Anniversary - Rating 5/5

Perfect combination of welcoming, friendly service with comfortable, individual rooms and delicious food. It's always a pleasure and a treat to visit the Pheasant.

Reviewer:Mr. Tom G | Tue 5th Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


The Pheasant, Gestingthorpe - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay again, we can't recommend this place enough. The food is excellent, the friendly atmosphere continues throughout your stay, and the bedrooms are beyond your dreams! We haven't found another "hide-away"like it. Wonderful.

Reviewer:Bryan B | Sat 2nd Dec 2017 | 2 years ago


Looking for a quiet stay thats what we got. - Rating 5/5

Will return. Very comfortable &relax stay.

Reviewer:Julie F | Thu 26th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Weekend trip - Rating 5/5

Stayed at The Pheasant with my wife as our friends had a wedding ceremony nearby. The rooms and the food were of very high quality, which was matched with a very warm atmosphere thanks to the hosts. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:maciej t | Sun 22nd Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Ideal accessible friendly - Rating 5/5

Perfect accessible accommodation, quiet and spacious;very friendly, helpful hosts;delicious food. What more could you want? Oh yes, art - pub walls adorned with attractive still lifes by very talented local artist Belinda Nott, when we visited. Look her up too.

Reviewer:Deborah C | Sat 30th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


The Pheasant Pub - Rating 4/5

Excellent accommodation and delicious food prepared by the very helpful and delightful couple who own thee pub. Good value.

Reviewer:Alan C | Fri 8th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Beautiful Memory - Rating 5/5

Dear Dianna and James,Thank you so much for the beautiful memory left with us and my friend's family. Your pub and rooms is one of the best experience we ever had. I hope we will have the chance to visit you again soon.Best regards,Daniel Jiang Yu

Reviewer:Jiang Y | Sat 15th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 4/5

Room was clean and comfy with every convenience. The food was excellent. Staff were cheerful and attentive.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol B | Tue 27th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Overnight stay. - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable evening where accommodation and dinner were excellent. The Pheasant is in a very scenic location and perfect for a quiet weekend away in the countryside

Reviewer:Stephen C | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


A romantic stay - Rating 5/5

We had a great time at the Pheasant. A warm welcome, room exactly as expected and champagne waiting as requested. A delicious meal followed by a very comfortable nights stay. Breakfast was also very tasty and lots of choice. Thank you formaking our relaxing stay so enjoyable.

Reviewer:Ms. DanielleJ | Sat 8th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed at The Pheasant, very friendly welcome from Diana, we had a complimentary glass of prosecco, then we were shown to our room, Captain Oates, amazing room, very spacious &spotlessly clean. Our evening dinner was just amazing, the whole menu was perfect for us &after much consideration, the starters we chose Liver Pate &homemade soup were very tasty &for mains I had pork belly &my wife had the Lamb, both amazing dishes, rarely do you find a restaurant where every course was just as good as the next, we had that at the Pheasant &the service was excellent too. Breakfast followed our comfy stay the next morning,a lovely full English breakfast perfectly cooked with quality ingredients &pastries &cheese/ham &cereals too. Needless to say we will be back, even if its only for sunday lunch, Diana is a very lucky lady cos boy can her hubby James cook!! Thanks to you both &we will see you soon &keep up the excellent work, we've already told many people &we've only been home a day!!

Reviewer:Mr. Craig J | Tue 21st Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Return and worth it - Rating 5/5

We came back to Gestingthorpe because we so enjoyed our stay at the Pheasant back last March. Some times they say don't go backbut we were not disappointed and the accommodation, food and customer service was as excellent this time as before.There is nothing more we can say except stay there and see for yourself what it is like to stay in first class accommodation in a beautiful quiet location.

Reviewer:Keith S | Wed 30th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Return and worth it - Rating 5/5

We came back to Gestingthorpe because we so enjoyed our stay at the Pheasant back last March. Some times they say don't go backbut we were not disappointed and the accommodation, food and customer service was as excellent this time as before.There is nothing more we can say except stay there and see for yourself what it is like to stay in first class accommodation in a beautiful quiet location.

Reviewer:Keith S | Wed 30th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Saturday Night Stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent food &Stay

Reviewer:Kevin A | Mon 28th Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


A Great Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

We have stayed with the Donoghues several times this year. The first occasion we chose The Pheasant straight from the internet but subsequent visits have been because we now know what a great place it is to relax. Everything;the spacious and stylish rooms, great food at breakfast, lunch and dinner and most important of all, a warm welcome, efficient and friendly service from James and Diana and their staff.

Reviewer:Chris S | Wed 23rd Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


our second stay at The Pheasant - Rating 5/5

as it was our second stay, we knew what a great time we were in for.A lovely, well decorated, romantic room was waiting for us.Our hosts greeted us with prosecco and a warm welcome.Dinner was amazing, superb ingredients, perfectly cooked. Breakfast was equally good.My girlfriend and I love this place, and for good reason, its excellent.

Reviewer:Mark B | Tue 22nd Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

What a lovely little pub with rooms.The room was lovely very spacious and nicely decorated.Lots of little additional touches like cookies and a fridge with fresh water and milk.The food in the Pheasant was delicious.Would highly recommend and the owners Diana and James couldn't do enough to help and make our stay comfortable.

Reviewer:Mrs. Emma G | Wed 2nd Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

What a lovely little pub with rooms.The room was lovely very spacious and nicely decorated.Lots of little additional touches like cookies and a fridge with fresh water and milk.The food in the Pheasant was delicious.Would highly recommend and the owners Diana and James couldn't do enough to help and make our stay comfortable.

Reviewer:Mrs. Emma G | Wed 2nd Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Our second visit to The Pheasant and as fantastic as the first time.Amazing food.Lovely room with a view across open fields.

Reviewer:Mrs. rebecca b | Tue 1st Nov 2016 | 3 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

On arrival we got a free glass of Prosecco each, which was a lovely welcome.Room and surroundings were stunning! We stayed in the John Constable room, therefore we had a lovely four-poster bed.It was clean, tidy with a beautiful view.The best part of the stay was the food! It was outstanding. Would definitely recommend and we will certainly be going back!

Reviewer:Andy F | Wed 26th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely stay in a super room - Rating 5/5

We have just enjoyed a really wonderful night at the Pheasant. The room was very comfortable indeed and meant we had a great night's sleep. The breakfast was truly superb and ranks amongst the best I have ever tasted. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and both owners and staff were really welcoming. We will be back!

Reviewer:Louise D | Fri 30th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent find !! - Rating 5/5

Stayed at this lovely 'Restaurant with Rooms' recently for one night. Friendly welcome, immaculate room and quiet location so enjoyed a good nights sleep. It was easy to choose from a very good menu and the food was beautifully cooked. Excellent breakfast set us up for our long journey home. Highly recommended and a base to return to if we're ever back in that area.

Reviewer:Mr. Tom B | Fri 23rd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


seasonal visitor - Rating 5/5

Good food, good accommodation &nice people that is why I come as regularly as possible.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard L | Mon 19th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


40th Birthday Celebration - Rating 5/5

I found this gem of a venue on the internet. From intial enquiry through to check out Dianna and the team offered nothing but top star service. I wanted to find a venue to celebrate my 40th that offered locally sourced fresh food, a nice surrounding and possibility to stay overnight. The rooms were beautiful - we occupied 4 of the 5 on offer and all were stunning. The food was out of this world - so fresh and tasty. It really was the perfect birthday. Thanks so much to the team at The Phesant. We will be back without doubt!

Reviewer:Mrs. Suzanne J | Thu 11th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


comfortable stay at The Pheasant - Rating 5/5

We have just returned home after spending two nights at The Pheasant in Gestingthorpe whilst visiting friends in the area.Our room was spacious and very comfortable with a large ensuite wet room.There was a good choice of food for breakfasts and our kind hosts went out of their way to provide excellent food for a party of our friends on one evening.It was an enjoyable stay for us and we would recommend a visit.

Reviewer:John C | Wed 10th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


July 24, 2016 - Rating 5/5

Very enjoyable stay, food excellent, service professional and friendly.Nice room with stunning views.Only downside was the local taxi company and their pricing policy (charging passengers separately!).Overall a lovely time at the Pheasant, thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert O | Tue 26th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Birthdays break - Rating 5/5

Booked a couple of days break to celebrate my husbands birthday. We were really lucky with beautiful weather and were very happy with the accommodation at the Pheasant. You are housed in a separate annex in themed rooms named after famous locals and we were in John Constable. The room was spotless and spacious with a four poster very comfortable bed. The bathroom had a large shower which we loved as we prefer showers to baths. Water was supplied daily and real milk which was in the fridge and also home made cookies. Lovely touches. Breakfast and evening meals are excellent cooked using locally sourced food. We would be more than happy to visit the Pheasant again.

Reviewer:Margaret C | Mon 25th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Short stay on bike-trip - Rating 5/5

Beautiful surroundings for walking and view from the room. Comfortable. Room with thee, coffee, water in fridge and safe. Parking place for cars and storage for bikes. Very kind staff and delicious food.

Reviewer:Adrian B | Mon 18th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


A Great Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely pub with five stunning rooms in a separate and beautifully designed and converted carriage house, lovely lunch and breakfast and most importantly, great host, hostess and staff. Could not recommend it more highly and we will definitely be back for a longer stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher S | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Pheasant experience - Rating 5/5

We stayed here on a saturday as we were at wedding locally. They couldnt have been more helpful, rooms were modern comfortable and the food excellent.

Reviewer:David C | Mon 9th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Fabulous stay - Rating 5/5

We spent one night here in March &wished it was more, such a lovely pub &a lovely room, with all facilities. On arrival was greeted with a warm welcome by Diana &a complimentary glass of prossecco which was a nice touch whilst we checked in with her, James was equally friendly, &producedsuperb food, which was served by a very friendly waitress with a great sense of humour, we definitely will return again and for longer.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin G | Sat 30th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Pheasant Pub with Rooms - Rating 5/5

We were very pleasantly surprised upon arrival. The room (John Constable) was a delight, quality and class right through.Our stay was for one right and was a bed, dinner and breakfast package.The ambiance of the restaurant/bar was excellent, the beer was also excellent.The meal was very good, and a range of good to excellent wines were available - we had a St Emilion Grand Cru.The restaurant was well filled, quite something on a Monday evening.Breakfast was also excllent. Everybody was friendly, welcoming and helpful.We enjoyed the experience and would certainly recommend and return. Well done, a jewel in the Essex Countryside.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lorna R | Wed 27th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Lovely warm welcome when we arrived. Beautiful room with a great view. Fabulous breakfast. Didn't have time to stay for dinner but the food looked delicious.

Reviewer:Michelle W | Mon 25th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Overnight stay after a wedding. - Rating 4/5

Very welcoming and helpful. Nothing too much trouble.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol J | Tue 29th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Extremely pleasant at The Pheasant - Rating 5/5

We shared the family room at this really lovely pub with rooms.We all had a comfy night in the generously sized room and the bathroom was immaculate.Popping over to the pub for dinner and breakfast was a real treat and both the food and service were excellent.Definitely worth a visit and whilst our childen were well catered for, it would make a great romantic break venue!

Reviewer:Zannie P | Mon 28th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


The pheasant 24/03/2016 - Rating 5/5

When we arrived at The Pheasant we were greeted warmly and provided with complimentary drinks. We stayed in the John Constable room, which provided magnificent views of the rolling countryside.Dinner...what can I say, The Pheasant cooks the best pork belly dishin the whole world, a must if you visit. Our stay at The Pheasant was a really peaceful break from the rat race, the owners and staff warm and welcoming, the rooms lovely and the food great.

Reviewer:Mr. IanM | Sat 26th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Fabulous place - Rating 5/5

Superlatives are required to describe this place it was that good. On our trip to East Anglia we stayed at two places that could not have been more different. The first a "luxury country house"in Norfolk that was anything but and this place which describes itself as a Pub restaurant but is much more than that. Indeed The Pheasant could justifiably use the word luxurious because it is so good. Welcoming, warm, clean, friendly, excellentmeals, great breakfast, luxurious accommodation and great value for money.Will go back and will recommend

Reviewer:Keith S | Tue 22nd Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


absolutely fabulous !! - Rating 5/5

exceptional service, facilities and food, we look forward to returning soon

Reviewer:Jane A | Mon 21st Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


We loved it - Rating 5/5

Gorgeous, clean, comfortable room.Wonderful meal - sticky toffee pudding to die for!We thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night stay and wished it could have been longer.We will definitely return and would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda C | Wed 16th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Really great location and top rate accomodation. Staff very welcoming and went out of their way to get us to the wedding reception we were due at. Tasty well cooked breakfast with home grown ingredients. Highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Mr. Philip B | Tue 15th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Peace and quiet in comfort - Rating 4/5

Beautiful spot and delightful rooms.We were very comfortable.Breakfast delicious - evening meals more your local pub grub standard of cooking, nothing wrong with that!

Reviewer:Miss. Julie C | Mon 14th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely place - Rating 4/5

Friendly staff, good food, couldn't fault it.

Reviewer:Mr. GARY B | Sat 12th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


A great find - Rating 5/5

Stayed during the week and we were met with wonderful hospitality and a glass of Prosecco on arrival! Superb food and accommodation with real attention to detail and luxury. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. David W | Fri 26th Feb 2016 | 3 years ago


Betwixmas - Rating 5/5

An excellent venue for a relaxing break, very comfortable accommodation and high quality food

Reviewer:Mr. James E | Thu 31st Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

we had a perfect stay, food was excellent, the room everything. I highly recommend this charming country pub.

Reviewer:Talitha K | Mon 16th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Extremely comfortable and relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

My wife and I recently enjoyed our wedding anniversary here at 'The Pheasant Pub'.As we have children we wanted a quiet break away to enjoy each others company and we couldn't have picked a better place.The accommodation was spotless and very relaxing (we stayed in the Captain Oates themed room).Very comfortable atmosphere in the actual pub. We were totally spoiled for choice on the menu and there was also a great selection of specials. Everything is either grown or sourced locally and cooked to perfection.All in all, a 5 star experience and would definitley recommend to anyone in need of an indulgent weekend break

Reviewer:James D | Mon 9th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


What a Pheasant venue - Rating 5/5

This pub with rooms is the very best we have stayed in.Everything about our stay was to the highest standard. We are returning in December with friends for a Christmas meal.We cannot rate the venue highly enough.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael m | Sat 7th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


It`s more than pleasant at \"The Pheasant\" - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights dinner bed and breakfast. Good to see the owners actually running the establishment hands on. Very welcoming clean and beautiful room food was excellent. Lovely quiet place.It was not cheap but these days you get what you pay for and we certainly thought that was the case.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael A | Wed 4th Nov 2015 | 4 years ago


Perfect for a quiet celebration - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation and food. Staff very welcoming. All in all a superb little gem tucked away in the Essex countryside.

Reviewer:Michael J | Sun 30th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


the pheasant pub - Rating 5/5

Lovely easy stay.couldn't fault anything from the room to the food and staff.we will be returning.

Reviewer:Mr. francis c | Sat 22nd Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Husbands 40th - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful relaxing stay at the Pheasant for my husband's 40th.The food was excellent.Only criticism we had was the breakfast was a bit small.Diana and James were very welcoming.Thank you will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Susan C | Mon 10th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights and the whole experience was top class. Warm welcome, pleasant staff, great food, wonderful room. We will be back soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Barrie C | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Idyllic stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed one night for a friend's wedding and the room was clean and quiet with warm cookies in arrival. Breakfast was very good and served in the atmospheric bar.Staff were more than helpful and we highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. Lianne M | Mon 22nd Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Cannot be beaten! - Rating 5/5

Diana and James were made to be hosts. They could not have made our stay better. It was an absolute joy to stay in the John Constable room. Everything we needed for luxury comfort and rest. Looking out over acres of cornfields as you awake was heaven.The food was great and company was always friendly. It was by far the best 'bed and breakfast' break we have ever had. Cannot contemplate staying anywhere else when returning to this area( or even driving distance from it!) Really superb value. Cannot stop talking about it. Thank you so much Diana and James.

Reviewer:A | Mon 22nd Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


The Pheasant Pub - Rating 5/5

Absolutely charming public house, very friendly staff, lovely food,and the rooms were first class, and very quiet.A really great place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Trevor Anthony W | Sun 21st Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Everything we could wish for - Rating 5/5

A very comfortable room and accessible adapted shower room. Everyone was very welcoming and helpful.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sally J | Tue 9th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


short stay - Rating 5/5

great venue, warm welcome and would recommend

Reviewer:Mrs. Jennifer L | Mon 25th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation and food from family business with character.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher S | Fri 22nd May 2015 | 4 years ago


Great Hospitality! - Rating 5/5

On arrival Diana made us feel very welcome. Excellent accomodation, very comfortable in delightful surroundings. A delicious full english breakfast, will recomend and will return. Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher B | Tue 5th May 2015 | 4 years ago


midweek break - Rating 5/5

A very good evening and overnight stay in a superb room. Staff were professional and friendly. Would hope to visit again.

Reviewer:Mr. Tom C | Sat 2nd May 2015 | 4 years ago


Another excellent overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Wonderful accommodation and fine food;just like it was the last time we visited!

Reviewer:Mrs. Janice W | Thu 30th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Jacqueline and David Hollingsworth - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a lovely stay at the Pheasant pub. We were made very welcome from the off.staff were brilliant. The room was perfect and the view from the window was spectacular,and the food was second to none.

Reviewer:Jacqueline H | Tue 21st Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Great food and very comfortable rooms. Beautiful countryside all around. Ideal for a cosy getaway.

Reviewer:Emma F | Thu 16th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Staying at the best pub of the year. - Rating 5/5

We decided to venture on a long bike ride and stay somewhere nice. The pub was excellent, good food wine and beer. The owners and staff were very friendly. Theyoung female waitresses gave great customer service and attention to detail. We stayed in a ground floor room that was very comfortable and spacious. Would definitely come again and recommend to our friends.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin A | Mon 13th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


First Class - Rating 5/5

My husband and I stayed here after the night of our wedding and nothing was a problem right from the word go, everything was first class and we will be definitely returning. Thank you again xx

Reviewer:Miss. Kelly H | Mon 13th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Very nice place - Rating 5/5

Nice room, kind persons and good food. All was excellent.

Reviewer:Jean L | Thu 9th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


The Fabulous Pheasant - Rating 5/5

On arrival we were greeted as V.I.P.s with complimentary .fizz,.Our bedroom, the Courtald room,was superb, with a beautiful countryside view. Staff excellent. We were attending a wedding at Castle Hedingham and w hen our taxi failed to materialise, James, Chef, Gardener and joint proprietor saved the day by taking us in his Porche(2 trips). We cannot praise this establishment highly enough.

Reviewer:John B | Sat 4th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed every part of our stay, from the helpful, friendly staff, to the excellent breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Alan K | Thu 2nd Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Visit on 20 March - Rating 5/5

once again enjoyed our stay - excellent service, superb food, warm atmosphere. We will be back again no doubt and have recommended it again to friends.

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen M | Mon 23rd Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely Experience - Rating 5/5

This pub/hotel combo is one of the nicest hotel experiences we have had. The staff and owners were so friendly and the attention to detail is an example to larger hotels - Extra blanket if you do not like duvets, fresh milk in the room refigerator and the room decor excellent. We will definitely be returning - soon I hope.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard N | Fri 20th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


A very pleasant peaceful stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely room with a fabulous view - the John Constable room - excellent friendly service,good good and drink.Altogether a very pleasant and relaxing stay.

Reviewer:Ms. Jane P | Tue 17th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Great room, breakfast & restaurant - Rating 5/5

Friday night dbb package was great value - excellent large room (we had Gainsborough suite) lovely staff. Food very good - breakfast excellent

Reviewer:Mr. David S | Sun 15th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Perfect stay again! - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, stylish, warm room with lovely distant views over open countryside. Owners and staff are really lovely caring people and the food is excellent. Another perfect stay - I shall never stay anywhere else when in this area!

Reviewer:Edward S | Fri 6th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Relaxing stay. - Rating 5/5

This was a relaxing stay.The room was beautiful, the food fantastic.Would recommend to anyone needing a recharge.

Reviewer:Mrs. Joanne B | Mon 23rd Feb 2015 | 4 years ago


The Gem of East Anglia - Rating 5/5

Our 3 night stay at The Pheasant began with a warm welcome from Diana in their beautiful 500 year old pub. Our accommodation, which is only 4 years old and about 20 steps away, was clean, fresh, spacious and had lovely views of the countryside.We enjoyed delicious meals cooked be James each night, after exploring the local sights by day. Breakfast was also a meal to remember!I would recommend staying at The Pheasant to anyone who is thinking of travelling in this part of England. It's a wonderful base in friendly, relaxing surroundings.

Reviewer:Valerie F | Thu 19th Feb 2015 | 4 years ago


The best choice - Rating 5/5

The Pheasant proved an inspired choice of venue to meet up with cousins.We were made very welcome by the owner and staff, the food was wonderful and we couldn't fault our room.We will definitely go again and tell our friends.

Reviewer:Rosemary N | Fri 6th Feb 2015 | 4 years ago


Fabulous in every respect - Rating 5/5

The best way I can describe my stay is that it was everything I had hoped it would be and more! And in my case that is really saying something. I look forward very much to an opportunity to return.

Reviewer:Edward S | Fri 5th Dec 2014 | 5 years ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

I booked 2 nights for my parent's 8oth birthday surprise.They were very impressed and pleased and could not fault the room, service and staff and owners.The rooms were very comfortable and warm.The food was excellent and a wonderful choice.The staff were very attentive in every way.They were recommend it.

Reviewer:Laura S | Fri 21st Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


Service, food and accommodation - first class - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed with two friends for one night whilst passing through. The young lady who was behind the bar when we arrived was really welcoming and seemd to take pleasure in showing us to our room. I travel a lot with work and this is the FIRST time that the person showing me to my room has specifically asked if either of us is allergic to feathers and then replaced two down pillows with synthetic as we unpacked. The bar is also very welcoming and my wife and I both enjoyed the complimentary drink on arrival.Dinner selections were excellent too, the chef certainly knows how to prepare, cook and serve game and my wife found the mushrooms on ciabatta faultless.The wine list is as good as you'll find in any "gastropub"and the prices are extremely fair.The hospitalityeven extended to providing a full cooked breakfast an hour earlier than the kitchen usually opens because we had an early appointment to make.We will be finding an excuse to tour the area just so we can stay here again.

Reviewer:Dr. Mark L | Sat 8th Nov 2014 | 5 years ago


!!!!!!!!!!! - Rating 5/5

What can we say?From walking into The Pheasant, to leaving was an absolute pleasure. Nothing too much trouble, everything spotlessly clean and comfortable. Thank you for making our very emotional weekend less stressful, with your kindness.

Reviewer:Irene J | Sun 5th Oct 2014 | 5 years ago


Peaceful Haven- Rating 5/5

Stayed for 3 nights ,Diana and James are excellent hosts and the food was wonderful.Felt totally at home in a peaceful and very relaxing place. Plenty to do around the area. Would definitely recommend

Reviewer:Sarah D | Fri 29th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Fantastic! - Rating 5/5

We had two nights at The Pheasant. My partner is wheelchair-bound, and so we stayed in the Mark Catesby Room, which is fully designed for those with disability issues and also beautifully designed and appointed, with French windows opening to a lovely seating area and a vast expanse of fields beyond. Hosts Diana and James were enormously welcoming, and the food was exquisite:beautifully conceived and prepared, with a wide selection. We left refreshed and restored! One of our very best hotel stays in the past few years.

Reviewer:Dr. Michael W | Wed 23rd Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Thank you for a very comfortable stay, excellent facilities and breakfast.Thank you also for booking the taxis at short notice for us.Our only disappointment was that lunch was not served on the day of our arrival due to staffing issues.I would recommend anyone to stay at The Pheasant for it's facilities

Reviewer:Mrs. Tracy C | Sun 20th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Just perfect - Rating 5/5

This was perfection. The rooms are stunning, large and beautifully equipped, better than many 5star hotels. Our hosts are delightful, friendly helpful and welcoming. The food from a sensible size menu is perfectly cooked and presented with a reasonably priced wine list.

Reviewer:Roy T | Fri 18th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

There is a very friendly welcome here and a personal touch in all aspects f service. The rooms are stylish and modern with excellent facilities. The pub has excellent home cooking using local produce and vegetables and eggs from the garden. In a tranquil country setting it would be hard to find a nicer place for a short treat.

Reviewer:Ms. Daphne R | Sun 13th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Perfect wedding night - Rating 5/5

A wonderful hotel that I would recommend to anyone. It was our wedding night, and the hosts stayed up late to check us in and show us our room. Our fantastic chef made us a delicious breakfast even though he was recovering from surgery. The atmosphere is very relaxed and warm, with great views of the surrounding countryside, lovely gastropub, and a well kept garden.

Reviewer:Zane D | Fri 6th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

We were staying overnight having attended a nearby wedding. The rooms are of a high standard and the breakfast was excellent. Beautiful views across the countryside.

Reviewer:Mr. Roy W | Mon 19th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Great place to stay in Suffolk - Rating 5/5

We arrived a bit frazzled after the Dartford Tunnel experience, but the friendly staff made us feel welcome, checked us in quickly and we were soon sitting down to a delicious supper with our friends.Great food and excellent service.Wish we had stayed longer.

Reviewer:Ms. Ann D | Mon 12th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Not for kids - Rating 2/5

Room was great, food was great, but unfortunately felt that children were tolerated rather than welcomed - would not recommend for a family stay.

Reviewer:Keith W | Sun 4th May 2014 | 5 years ago


A contented guest - Rating 4/5

A really good establishment. Accomodation was excellent in Oates Suite with quality fittings and provided everything to accommodate my disability. The business is very much food led and was first class in terms of variety and quality.Under this format the scoring system will only grade 4 out of 5. Personally I would score it 4.5 out of 5.Because it is food led the wet trade is very much secondary. Our meal on the first night was great but it was unhelpful to be hurried away at the end of our meal as the table was booked out to another party. Particularly so as the premises were so busy that there was not even some where to sit for a nightcap.

Reviewer:Martin L | Wed 9th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Great Stay All Round - Rating 4/5

Very comfy room with thoughtful touches like REAL milk in the mini-fridge instead of the usual horrid UHT capsules. My wife and I enjoyed a fabulous dinner and an excellent Argentinian Malbec - the wine list has been carefully put together by someone who knows what they're doing. This is pub food as it should be - the best local and fresh seasonalproduce, beautifully cooked. The Pheasant avoids the usual mistake of amny 'gourmet pubs' that try to do 'fine dining' and failing miserably. The food is spot on - my wife's fetta, fig &serrano ham salad was delicious and my home-made salman pate was light, fluffy and scrumptious. I had the best sirloin steak I've ever had and Debbi made short work of a very large cheeseboard. Puds looked fab, but we just could not have managed another bite! Staff were lovely, very friendly but also very professional 10/10 guys! Breakfast was fab too! If you're after a peaceful, country spot and a relaxed evening with great food, then The Pheasant delivers on it's promises. Recommended.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard B | Sun 30th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


Beautiful - Rating 5/5

My wife and I had a wonderful one night stay. The pub was very nice with excellent food, beer and wine. The accommodation was of a very high standard and the views were incredible. We will be going back soon!

Reviewer:Matthew B | Mon 24th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

The accommodation,restaurant and hospitality were excellent,a real gem in lovely countryside.Very enjoyable.

Reviewer:Thomas B | Sun 23rd Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


A very good choice - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation, great food and very friendly staff - highly recommended. Will stay again!

Reviewer:Michael O | Thu 20th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


What more do you want? - Rating 4/5

Comfortable room, good food, good beer, pleasant staff.

Reviewer:Mr. Alistair A | Tue 18th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


The pheasant- Rating 5/5

A fabulous warm welcome from the staff, very helpful and attend your every need, we stayed in the john constable room with a large four post bed, the room was very well appointed with wifi,flat screen television, tea and coffee facilities, and a small fridge with complimentary water, there were window seats and amazing views of the countryside. There was also a large double shower, and the bathroom was very modern and well appointed. Amazingly soft towels, the food served is fantastic with a great selection of starters, main course and desert, overall we had an amazing time and would highly recommend to our friends and family. We are now planning to revisit soon.

Reviewer:John A | Sat 15th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


weekend break - Rating 4/5

large comfortable rooms, very friendly helpful staff and fab food . Good weekend .

Reviewer:Mrs. HeatherM | Mon 10th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

I had the great pleasure of staying at the Pheasant this weekend. The Hotel ,staff and management was first class could not fault the stay at all. I am looking forward to my next and hopefully continued stays at the Pheasant Hotel. This hotel is a must

Reviewer:Mr. Richard B | Sun 2nd Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


Birthday Treat - Rating 5/5

This was our second short stay at The Pheasant. We were pleased with our room (Thomas Gainsborough), and the food was excellent.We both had belly of pork as a main course, and it was delicious.Everything on the menu sounded enticing, so we will be back!

Reviewer:Mr. Tom G | Fri 21st Feb 2014 | 5 years ago


An excellent Valentine's Day stay - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely Valentine's Day stay. Lovely food and room.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin W | Sun 16th Feb 2014 | 5 years ago


Lovely Valentine Celebration - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay Great food Lovely accomadation

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan F | Sun 16th Feb 2014 | 5 years ago


Overnight at the pheasant - Rating 4/5

What a great experience! We stayed here as a prelude to attending a family wedding at a local wedding venue.We arrived to a glass of prosecco and a warm welcome on a wet winters day.We were shown our room which was definitely boutique hotel style and very comfortable and warm.Having sorted ourselves into the room we went back inside the bar as we had booked for an evening meal.We were a little early but seated at our table straight away and the waitress couldn't have been more helpful.The food was really excellent and we over indulged with three courses plus dessert wine &c.We had a great nights sleep although had to open a window as it was slightly too hot in the room, not a bad side to err on though.( we probably should have mentioned this)Breakfast Next morning was just right and freshly cooked.We set off that morning feeling we had had a great experience with excellent accommodation and really good food.The wedding venue we went onto could do with some pointers from the Pheasant we later discovered....

Reviewer:Mrs. Georgina B | Wed 12th Feb 2014 | 5 years ago


please dont use my name! - Rating 4/5

An exceptional welcome greeted us at The Pheasant. Apart from a drink and guide around the room, we had a careful map of local walks to take the dog. The food was good and the pork belly and steak were appreciated particularly. Our breakfast eggs tasted of freshness, whilst the honey for the toast was divine.And then we were given directions for the next leg of our journey.....great.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jane M | Sun 9th Feb 2014 | 5 years ago


mini break - Rating 5/5

Really great stay. Lovely welcoming hosts, fabulous food and the room was of very high quality. Would strongly recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. Katie W | Sat 8th Feb 2014 | 5 years ago


Anniversary weekend - Rating 5/5

Welcoming and comfortable pub with delicious food and a satisfying combination of remote and easy to reach.The overnight rooms were an amazing treat. We had a fantastic weekend

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen P | Tue 31st Dec 2013 | 5 years ago


Oct 2013 stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Pheasant for 1 night for my husband's 40th birthday.The room was lovely - comfy and clean with a fab bubbley bath - and the food was amazing!!The glass of Proseccoon arrival was a nice touch.Would definitely stay again!

Reviewer:Mrs. AngelaV | Thu 17th Oct 2013 | 6 years ago


late booking - Rating 5/5

wonderful overnight stay to celebrate a 60th birthday. Will recommend.Room great, food plentiful and delicious, warm hospitality.

Reviewer:Mrs. Elaine H | Tue 8th Oct 2013 | 6 years ago


Miss - Rating 5/5

Delicious dinner and lovely room - thank you for a wonderful trip.

Reviewer:Ms. Beverley S | Sun 29th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Fantastic find - Rating 5/5

This was just we were looking for, in a quiet location. Our room was perfect with many finishing touches and with french doorsour dog (Maisie) was suited as well. There was something on the menu to suit everyone and everything was cooked presented and servedwell. Wewould recomend a stay at The Pheasantor just for a wonderful meal.

Reviewer:Mrs. Frances L | Fri 13th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


80th Birthday - Rating 5/5

We all had a wonderful stay. We had a very warm welcome. The staff were extremely accommodating. The accommodation was beautifully presented and the food was excellent and great value. Overall we had a really relaxing and pleasurable stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Bridget S | Sun 8th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Amazing stay - Rating 5/5

My husband and I and our close friends came to stay at The Pheasant the bank holiday weekend. We had an amazing time from arriving to a warm welcome and glass if prosecco, to being shown to our beautiful rooms over looking picturesque farm land to a delicious 3course meal.The staff were friendly, helpful and really made our stay 5 stars. The food was wonderful and the breakfast the following morning was just what we needed to set us up for our journey come. The gardens and allotment and the hotel itself are really are worth a visit. 5/5 and we will be returning next year. Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Sarah S | Sun 8th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Amazing break! - Rating 5/5

Peace, quiet, amazing food and lovely people - what more could you want?We hope to return to repeat the experience in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael S | Wed 4th Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


The Pheasant Gestingthorpe - Rating 5/5

A lovely place run by lovely people. Great welcome;huge room with all mods cons. Good supper, and a nice deal on the room and taster menu.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike Flood P | Tue 3rd Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Worth the Long Journey! - Rating 5/5

Our trip from Lancashire to Essex for a wedding meant finding a B&B via the internet. We couldn't have stumbled upon a better choice and were amazed at the delicious dinner on arrival, lovely room and friendly welcome. We had the room with Access facilities (it was the only one left at the time of booking) and it was really well appointed and great for those with needs as well as those without - with French doors to the sunny terrace overlooking an enormous cornfield. I have been trying to think of an excuse to book all five rooms for a family gathering and dinner! A pity we are so far away - but if you are nearer, or coming for a special occasion or even a week, don't miss it. Thanks for making our weekend so memorable. We hope to return for longer.

Reviewer:Mrs. Gill H | Mon 19th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Would do it again- Rating 4/5

Very friendly staff, pleasant surroundings, quite location nice big room. Good for a break

Reviewer:Mr. Russel W | Tue 30th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A charming pub, family run, offering highest comfort in the well equiped rooms and a warm and friendly welcome. We came from Austria and we have been to many places before but this is one of the very best in whole UK.The pub is tastefully decorated with antique furniture and nice artwork. You can feel the atmosphere and history of the pub without having the dirt and dust of the last hundred years on the tables, the walls, the chairs and the floor as the bar and the restaurant has been looked after very well.The freshly cooked dinner made by the chef himself was excellent. So the breakfast with fresh fruits and even lovely English cheese.The room was decorated in moderen style, had an excellent bed and offered all the modern comfort (TV, Power Shower, WiFi) that is needed for a pleasent stay.Thank you for the warm welcome. We enjoyed the stay in this very dog friendly inn and we had lovely walks in the fields behind the inn.We´ll definitely come again.Kind regards, Michael + Renate (Klosterneuburg/Austria)

Reviewer:Mr. Michael R | Wed 3rd Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


A treat in the country - Rating 5/5

We arrived on Friday which was cold and raining so it was lovely to walk into the Pheasant and sit infront of thewood burners with our complementary glass of prosecco before we went to our room.Accommodation was excellent, spacious, clean and very pleasant and the bed was soooo comfy.Luckily the next morning brought completely different weather so we couldwalk out of our bedroom and were confronted with a beautiful view across the countryside andwe were able to explore some of the surrounding CountrysideincludingBelchamp Hall which featured in the Lovejoy TV series.We would highly recommend The pheasant;the food was excellent and James and Diana are engaging hosts.

Reviewer:Ms. Maria C | Mon 27th May 2013 | 6 years ago


The Pheasant Inn - Rating 4/5

Warm, friendly hosts and staff, lovely room and big bed. Attention to detail. Food good too.

Reviewer:Mrs. Brenda C | Sun 31st Mar 2013 | 6 years ago


A relaxing stay at the Pheasant - Rating 5/5

We chose the Pheasant to celebrate our anniversary and we were not disappointed. The room was very comfortable and had lovely views across the fields. The food was excellent and our hosts could not have been more helpful. We shall return again when the weather is better so that we can explore the lovely countryside.

Reviewer:Mr. Frank W | Wed 27th Mar 2013 | 6 years ago


A relaxing stay. - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Pheasant. Our room was comfortable and tastefully designed, the food was delicious and the location tranquil. Our hosts were warm yet professional and we would definitely return.We feel that The Pheasant provides good value for money. Our only small areas for improvement would be for the wireless to be accessible from the room(John Constable). Also our room wasn't ready when we arrived, even though we made specific arrangements on the booking form. These things would not prevent us recommending the hotel to others however.

Reviewer:Mrs. CatherineB | Sun 24th Mar 2013 | 6 years ago


Really worth a visit! - Rating 5/5

Quite excellent quality boutique bedroom;presence of a sofa much appreciated. Food of the highest quality. A real find!

Reviewer:Mrs. Janice W | Sat 23rd Mar 2013 | 6 years ago


Fab birthday - Rating 5/5

A really good night the best sleep in ages!Food and service was excellent, would recommend as a place for a night away without hesitation

Reviewer:Mrs. Caroline D | Thu 21st Mar 2013 | 6 years ago


Tasteful and tasty. - Rating 5/5

We stayed at The Pheasant on the night before the owners were due to go on holiday, so it would have been understandable had things been a little disorganised.It was not so.The room - Captain Oates - was spotless, comfortable and well appointed.The food and drink were remarkable, from a wonderfully bitter Pheasant Ale, made with smoked hops (I know that sounds odd, but try some) to Sausage and Mash that was as good as any I've ever had.In addition, both James and Diana somehow found time to chat, and James is a really interesting guy to chat with.We look forward to a return visit.Dave &Maggie Trahar

Reviewer:Mr. David T | Mon 7th Jan 2013 | 6 years ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Lovely place, great service and beautiful setting.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sally M | Mon 3rd Dec 2012 | 7 years ago


The Pheasant - Rating 5/5

Thank you for your very welcoming hospitalityThe capt Oates Room was so very comfortable and quiet just what we neededThe food was excel;ant and we will most definitly return

Reviewer:Mr. Stuart G | Mon 29th Oct 2012 | 7 years ago


Relaxing weekend - Rating 4/5

We've just returned from an overnight stay at the pheasant. Our room was nice and the jacuzzi bath added a nice addition.Lovely comfy bed and a picturesque view added to the overall experience. The breakfast included was of good quality, with plenty of choice for everyone.We ate at the restaurant in the evening and were impressed with the food, value and service.From the moment we arrived at the pheasant pub we were impressed with the service at hotel check in we were given a glass of chilled wine and on entering our room told everything we needed to know.We would recommend this hotel/ restaurant for a nice relaxing break but feel that the rooms may be a little over priced.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul B | Mon 1st Oct 2012 | 7 years ago


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

Had a most enjoyable stay over two nights. The room (Oates) was excellent - large, very comfortable, wonderful views and very well appointed and equipped. Bath was a great "exra". Food at the Pheasant was equally good (highly recommend the lamb and the cheese board). The breakfasts were a great start to the day with plenty of choice and variety. All in all a wonderful experience - we will be back!!

Reviewer:Mr. JohnT | Wed 5th Sep 2012 | 7 years ago


Visiting from the West Country - Rating 5/5

Many thanks for a lovely stay (3 days). A very warm and welcoming atmosphere, great accomodation and good food, what more can you ask for?

Reviewer:Mr. Bill H | Fri 6th Jul 2012 | 7 years ago


Excellent for family stay - Rating 4/5

Excellent stay - friendly &professional staff, the room was spotless with ample space and the food was very good. Will definitely recommend to others and stay again when we are in the area.

Reviewer:Dr. Stephanie Van C | Tue 12th Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


A thoroughly enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

We booked in for one night as a very short break over the long weekend, as we knew the Essex/Suffolk borders quite well but wanted more than a day trip there from home.We were delighted with the Pheasant accommodation and food.We had a beautiful view from our bedroom window, and the setting was peaceful - a welcome change from our normal existence.We thoroughly enjoyed a 3-course dinner and then a delicious breakfast. Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Mrs. Helen D | Wed 6th Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

Our stay at The Pheasant was just perfect.A lovely part of the world;our hosts were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was delightful and the food was exceptional.In everything there was attention to detail.We will certainly return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Maire M | Fri 1st Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


Four days away from it all - Rating 5/5

I live in Australia and visited Essex to do some family tree research. I discovered The Pheasant via a Google search and was delighted to find such superior accommodation well away from the hustle and bustle of city life. I had four glorious days being looked after by Diane and James, they certainly make you very welcome. My room was large and extremely comfortable, the bed and bathroom were fabulous. Really enjoyed the food, so much so I ate there for each of the four nights.I can thoroughly recommend The Pheasant.

Reviewer:Mrs. Rachel D | Fri 1st Jun 2012 | 7 years ago


Retreat for couples - Rating 5/5

Wonderful haven to spend time together. The rooms are of a very high standard and the food is made with great care and detail. This is our second visit and would gladly come back again.

Reviewer:Ms. Mary R | Tue 8th May 2012 | 7 years ago


Excellent hotel- Rating 5/5

The pheasant is an excellent hotel, very clean and spacious rooms with brilliant views. The staff were very friendly and polite, also the food in the pub was fantastic.I would defiantly recommend staying here.

Response

Thank you for your excellent review...we look forward to welcoming you to the Pheasant once again.With many thanksDiana DonoghueThe Owner

Reviewer:Adam B | Tue 10th Apr 2012 | 7 years ago


Book Online